I primarily created this blog post for my followers who want to know what I am up to and read my tweets but don’t want the annoyance of my famous #RTTime, however the details outlined in this guide will work for any twitter user who ReTweets more than you can handle! It is a very simple little trick that I am surprised is so unheard of but to bulk what would be a very quick blog post I will also explain how to disable/enable mobile notifications for a user.
In the photo to the right I have highlighted (with coloured circles in an orange box) the two tiny buttons that so easily go unnoticed. These buttons will only appear if you are following the user (if you are not following them the “Following” will say “Follow” – click that to start following the user and get these options shown).
The icon with the red ring is the one you need to make sure is greyed out if you don’t want to see the ReTweets of the user who’s profile you are viewing. If this is green (and it is by default after following a user) then this means that their ReTweets will appear in your time line!
The icon with the blue ring enables or disables mobile notifications. If this icon is green (enabled) and you have your mobile phone set up to receive twitter updates, then you will be alerted by sms whenever this user tweets! this can get quite annoying if the person who you are following sends a lot of tweets. To disable (as with the ReTweets option) click the icon so that it becomes greyed out (disabled).
Note that although this will stop new style ReTweets from appearing on your time line, where classic ReTweets are used they will still be displayed.
Also note that if you disable my ReTweets you may miss when I ReTweet blog updates. To make sure you get instant notification of new blog posts, follow @FlungoBlog.